CY365 Oct15-19 2019

I decided to take this to a weekly blog rather than daily and highlight each week’s photo prompts as a collection. I am also looking at the site canvas to create a digital photobook to link the weekly collections to. Partially to keep them as a unit, but also because there is limited media space here and I will quickly run out of room for more than just a featured image.

If I were to use a word to sum up this week, it would be orange as the majority of the photos have that color as a constant theme. As most of my weekly shooting is being done inside the house, I have been working a lot with still shot photography using a light box. It’s a style that like flat lay, I have discovered that I really enjoy.

The prompts that are featured here are: falling leaves, orange glow, home made and pumpkins. It was fun finding some creativity to make the shots happen. With falling leaves, what I had in my mind isn’t anything close to what actually ended up being the final project, but like a lot of times, what I see in my mind’s eye doesn’t translate to photo the way I hoped, so I end up letting the shot set itself. The one prompt that didn’t make it into the set was Emotions as I was unable to find time to even pick up the camera that day.

When I look back at my week in photos, I feel a sense of joy in what was produced.  I am also seeing that I am starting to discover my own sense of style and a cohesiveness that tells the story of my week from a photographic standpoint. If I were to shoot separate from the prompts, you would see an entirely different story. A story of a 2 year old girl’s adventure of the alphabet and numbers as we are working on one letter and number a week doing different crafts and projects.  One of those projects actually made it into this set of photos. The apple stamping shot for the Home Made prompt was one of our letter A projects.

I am looking forward to seeing how the weekly photo stories present themselves and where the journey leads.

Leave a comment