Day 12: The Heart of a Hero

13327381_10208892065795552_7934189916793933758_n

365 Day 12: The Heart of a Hero. Thank you to all who have served!

Today’s 365 is dedicated to my husband and every other veteran who has served this great nation.

It takes a special person to take on the mantle of solider, no matter what branch they have chosen. It takes someone who looks at others before self, who cherishes the blood soaked soil on which we stand, whose heart without a doubt bleeds red, white and blue.

When my husband and I met, he was a member of the Oklahoma National Guard. Soon before we married, we sat down together and made the choice for him to go active duty. It is a choice that I will never regret having made. It helped seed a heart of service to the community with him, and his path has stayed on that course. Corrections, EMS, Law Enforcement. Service is everything.

My grandfather served in WWII, my uncle and my father served as well. There is a military legacy within my family and my niece and son have taken up that mantle as well, serving respectively in the Air Force and the Oklahoma National Guard. It is not just my family that makes me nod my head in respect, but I have numerous friends who have served as well. In May, they come and stand together on Somer’s Field and pay their respect to their fallen brothers and sisters in the most heartfelt and impacting Memorial Day Services to take place, each and every year.

vet

Memorial Day Service at The Castle of Muskogee

I will never be able to put the gratitude I feel towards our veterans into words. So today, I simply say thank you. For all you have given of your heart, of your flesh, of your mind, you are the heroes we hold dear. Thank you, from all that I am.

Leave a Reply

