Old Year/New Year

So here we are about to close out 2011 and jump into 2012.  It has been a very crazy fast paced year, and I honestly think that it’s going to continue to spiral rapidly on as we step forward.  2011 saw some amazing things and some horrific moments as well.  For the band, it was an stellar year in which they accomplished some incredible things, including winning the OBA Class 2A State Marching Band championship.  It was also a hard year as we have struggled watching as one of our own has fought leukemia and we hold our breath as we wait and see if his body will accept or reject his recent bone marrow transplant.  As the wife of a police officer, I have endured and blown up at people attacking our officers verbally and have read countless news stories of officers that we have lost due to them being targeted and taken out in cold blooded murder.  More, now than ever I fear for my husband every time he walks out the door and goes 10-8.  We may live in a small community, but that means nothing because anytime, anywhere someone could decide to take an officer out just because they can.

2011 has been probably the busiest year of my life.  I am a wife and a mother of 4 with one fixing to graduate.  I became the band booster president for this school year.  I work summers at The Castle selling fireworks.  And I spend more days than not doing whatever I can to help the band program, it’s director and students progress, inspire and be the most exciting program that Hennessey schools has to offer.  When I look at the calendar for 2012, I can’t help but cringe, because I think it’s going to be even busier than this year has been.  In January alone, we have 2 honor band concerts, are joining a band honor society program, I am going to start cataloging all the music in the band room, my husband will be gone 2 weeks for DARE training, so I will essentially be a single parent for that time.  We have to start working on mini band camp, Hennessey Band Day, the spring concert, the band ball and the band banquet.  There are also solo and ensemble contests as well as Tri-State that students have to start preparing for.  Throw in a couple of dances that we are going to DJ, that I am working towards starting a police officers apouse area support group and that I am contemplating writing a book and that my oldest has prom, baccalaureate and graduation.  Life before May is going to be a bit more crazy than I even thought it could possibly be.  In June we step into K101 Classic  Bowl and back to work through July.   Then, the cycle starts again with preparing for band camp.

People tell you to live life to the fullest.  Well, I don’t think I am having a problem there.  If anything, it’s a bit too full.  Would I change it? Nope, I just have to change my time management.  Am I excited?  Yep, and a bit scared along with it.  One minute I have more ideas than I can count for a book and the next I’m telling myself I must be nuts to even think about doing such a project, then I turn right around and say why not??  Is there any reason that I CAN’T write a book?

2012 is going to be a landmark year for not just myself, but my family.  It is going to be a year of significant change for us.  But it is also going to be an exciting year as we march with the band, stand with the thin blue line and write the words on our hearts.  The beginning of a new year, a chance for you to start in a fresh direction if you are not happy with the one you are going.  A chance to make a difference in the lives of students, friends, and family.  A chance to live life to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

