Pre Show Jitters

Normally, I wouldn’t be up at 1am writing, but then my life has become anything but what you would consider normal.  Due to my husband’s job requirements when the phone goes off in the middle of the night and he has to go out, it makes it hard for me to go back to sleep.  Normally I would like in bed until sleep washed back over me but tonight….well, there’s more on my mind than just sleep.

In approximately 18 hours, the Hennessey bands will be putting on their spring concert production “Blue Carpet Movie Event” and I think I have enough pre show jitters  for everyone in the 4th-12th grade bands.  I have no doubts about how the bands will perform.  They do an amazing job.  My concern is if everything else is going to come together to enhance their performances.  Will all of the lighting and effects run smoothly?  Will we get the commercials set up to air?  Will the decorations all look as they should?  Will it come together the way that we have envisioned it to?  Oh, I hope so.  But not for the reasons you may think.  As much as we want to wow the crowd with the production, I want the bands to be wowed even more.  I want them to know that while, yes we did this to entertain the crowd, we have done all of what we are doing for THEM.  To showcase them.  And in all honesty, my greatest fear is letting THEM down.

We have a band program that is turning into something that is nothing short of amazing.  We have a director who has a passion not just for music, but for TEACHING music and helping his students become the best musicians they can possibly become.  He is dedicated to not just the band as a whole, but to the individuals who make up that whole.  We have students who are hard working and some who are just beyond dedicated.  I mean, I have to give a shout out to one of our trumpet players who when she got back from State Track Meet (and our girls won State!!!) she came straight to dress rehearsal.  We have younger students who want to shine as brightly as our high school band members.  We have parents who are coming together to support this band and want to help them achieve greatness.   This is a program that I am thrilled and honored to get to be a part of and associated with.

Tuesday I will try to have a follow up post about how the concert went.  I hope to have lots of pictures and video to share, because everyone has been waiting for this night to get here for a long time.  It’s going to be a night to remember!

Leave a Reply

