You May Say I’m A Dreamer

I am a dreamer.  My husband, is a realist.  It never ceases to amaze me how so much alike we really are and then can be so far apart on opposite ends of the spectrum at the same time.

We both LOVE B-Grade movies, Cult Classics…that sort of thing, and just recently purchased “Puppet Master”, one of our all time favorites.  After exposing our children to this wonderfully cheesy film, I made the comment that if I were ever to make a movie, I would choose to make a horrible B-Grade flick.  People love them and flock to them.  This opened up a conversation about some of our favorite and not so favorite Cult Classic flicks.

You may be wondering how I jumped from my being a dreamer and his a realist to cinema.  Well, I’m about to enlighten you.  Two of his most favorite movies of all time are “A Clockwork Orange” and “Apocalypse Now”.  I detest both of these films.  There are scenes from both of them that will never leave my brain, and I would have been just fine never seeing either of these movies.  My husband on the other hand, quotes them probably like most people can quote “Star Wars”.  Now don’t get me wrong, “Clockwork” is an ingenious movie, twisted and dark, but it’s one that I can’t wrap my brain around.  It makes me sick to my stomach to try to.  It’s too disturbing, but I think because it is on a “there are people really like this out there” level.  When my husband brought up “The Shining”, one of my all time favs, I pointed out that while yes, there are people like that in the world, this movie was still wrapped in “shock horror”, not “realistic horror” so it didn’t take me to that disturbed level.  Being a realist, my husband views life in the sense that the person behind you in line at the grocery store could twist off at any minuet.  While it’s a hard pill to swallow that such disturbed people really do live among us, it’s a part of life.  To him, that is what makes “Clockwork” such a great film.

As a dreamer, I live my life to music….music not everyone can hear.  While it may seem strange to some, I always have music playing in my head, like the background score of a movie.  No matter where I am, what I am doing, or who I am with, the music is always there.  This morning, when I took my son to school, one of the songs from “Lemonade Mouth” was (and still is) playing in my head.  I’ve used the saying “Music is the soundtrack of your life” many times, and it’s a sentence I live by.   My soundtrack is made up of many different songs by many different artists.  It is ever increasing as new music comes out.  Music is as essential to me as the very air that I breathe.  As a realist, to my husband when we are in the car, music is just background noise.  And I have no doubts that unless he has a moment of “I can’t get that song out of my head”, he does not hear music all the time.  I honestly think he hears sirens and tasers as I hear music. 😉  This is not a fault in either of us, it’s just the way we are.

The downside of being a dreamer, is that I can never get my brain to shut off.  It’s in constant motion, working on creating for different things, be it ideas for the band, our Halloween parties, festival, or trying to figure out ways to make something work better, smoother and easier.  All of this tends to carry over when I go to sleep and I dream about it when my eyes are closed just as much when my eyes are open.  At times, this causes some unwanted fatigue, but the end results of what I’m working on sometimes amaze me.

John Lennon wrote, “You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.”  I think of this line from “Imagine” a lot.  I wonder if the other dreamers out there, think and experience life as I do, or if it’s different for each of us.  I couldn’t imagine living as a realist.  To me it would be like watching the world in black and white.  Like the difference between our world, and Alice’s world beyond the looking glass, stepping from the mundane into the extraordinary.  Please don’t think that I’m calling realists mundane, because that’s not what I’m saying at all.  My husband is anything BUT mundane. I just couldn’t imagine myself as a realist…..being a dreamer has made up who I am, so I can’t even begin to think of myself any other way.

No matter if you are a dreamer or a realist, together, we complete this crazy puzzle of life!  Carry on, dream on, live on!!!

Leave a Reply

