Haven’t Played a Horn in 20 Years? It’s Like Riding a Bike!!

I haven’t touched a saxophone in 20 years….well, at least I hadn’t until the other night.  Off and on since my oldest joined band, I had thought about picking up a horn again, just to see if I could remember how.  But then, fear of making myself look foolish, trying to do something I hadn’t done in 20 years would hit and I would convince myself I was just being silly.

Having become so pro-active concerning the band this last year, and just enjoying listening to my kids play and getting excited about what they’re doing in this great program, I made the decision to jump feet first and not let my fears get in the way this time.  Yep, I got a reed from Mr. Steuart, washed Matthias’ mouthpiece out really well and grabbed one of his books.  I don’t know who was more amazed…me or Jeremiah when I started playing.  You see, even though I had convinced myself there was no way that I could remember how to read music, my brain filed it away all these years.  All I had to do was open the file and blow out the dust that had collected.  Now, by no means was I up and just playing everything under the sun.  While I remember most of the notes, and a lot of the rhythms, I am going to have to do a LOT of refreshing along the way.

One of the awesome things about this, was that it refreshed my mind so I was able to help work with a 5th grade sax player….and KNOW what I was doing.  Not just snap or clap and keep time for him.  I was able to work with him on a musical level.  Talk about a rewarding thing for me.  It felt amazing!

I guess the point that I am trying to make, is that if you were in band, it doesn’t matter how many years you are removed from the last time you picked up a horn.  Keep music a part of your life….get acquainted again.  How am I spending my 20 year reunion….hooking back up with my old pal the sax. ;) How about you?  Wanna Play?  http://www.facebook.com/wannaplaybynamm?sk=app_131177073618262

Leave a Reply

